top of page

Veronica Scocca - Model

Veronica is an Italian model and medical student. Let's hear her story!

@veronica_socca on Instagram


“My mom is my primary motivation and reason for why I got into modeling. Since I was 8 my mom would go with me to photoshoots. At the beginning she was skeptical because she already knew the fashion world and how difficult it is to get out of such an environment. She was right, till this day I cannot get rid of the emotions and fun time you have during a shoot or catwalk. At the age of 11, I kinda stopped because of school and teenage social life, but during my high school years I got into it again. Thanks to a friend and my mom , I got my old pictures and started looking for agencies in the area. From then, I continued while balancing shootings/cat walks and events with my studies. 


When I’m modeling, I feel sure of myself, like I have everything under control. Sometimes when you go to castings, you are used to see very beautiful girls, even prettier than you, but that doesn’t matter to me because I know my worth and that I have unique qualities. The fact that I study in a complex faculty (medicine) also makes me feel somewhat ahead of every other girl in this environment. There are many girls in the industry that drop out of school and just to do this. I don’t envy that. In this industry, unfortunately, your time is limited, because you cannot stay young and beautiful forever.”


What is your advice for aspiring models?


“My advice to girls that would like to get into modeling is firstly to have a reference agency and when they call you, don’t just accept everything but carefully evaluate what they propose to you. Some agencies offer you many things, but I often refuse some jobs simply because they don’t fit my personality and context. At the end of the day you have to do this for your own enjoyment. So evaluate and analyze the proposal and see if you might like the job/task. I say this because it can become addicting once you start accepting every single job. Don’t say yes just because, stay true to yourself and your values. 


Many times I have heard people asking me why I study medicine when I could just model and look pretty. People always say that if you don’t fully focus on modeling you could never make it far. I think that dedicating your life on something else is an advantage. I personally wouldn’t feel completely happy if i just chose to only do this." 


Is there any experience you'd like to share with us?


“Sometime ago I went to this casting in Verona where the people that were working there were all females. Since the moment I set foot in there, the women working there were already judging my posture, my height, my shoulders and they thought I was lying about my breasts saying that I’d gotten a boob job, etc. I felt weird because I didn’t get this type of treatment elsewhere. 


This is so damaging for inexperienced models because all of those diminishing comments can discourage them and make them really feel bad. Moreover, they asked me to pay to get the job, something a serious agency would never do; also damaging for new models because they get hooked and fall for their proposals."


What do you do to prepare for a photoshoot? 


When it  comes to shootings, to take care of myself I tend to isolate myself from everyone inside the room. I don’t talk to anyone, concentrate on myself, breathe deeply and stay in my bubble while practicing what I have to do before a show. When things go bad, I call my sister. She cheers me up and distracts me from overthinking about the problem."


What are your plans for the future? 


"Apart from working in a hospital, I would love to one day be able design my own clothing and create either accessories or shoes that express my being and love for fashion.”


On Instagram @veronica_socca

bottom of page