top of page

Madison McNally - Creative Marketing

Today, let's meet Madison McNally, who works in creative marketing but who, above all, is very invested in the cause we support, womxn empowerment!

@madmcnally on Instagram


“I am a Political Science and International Relations graduate from FIU (Florida International University) and am currently working at the Lotus House Women’s Shelter as a Community Outreach Coordinator.


The story of how the Lotus House began is actually really amazing. It feels like a movieit was originally founded by this art director who opened an old apartment building as a shelter for women. Eventually, this expanded into five apartment buildings, and today we are able to house 485 women and children a day, becoming the third largest shelter in the country! 


Lotus House not only is able to provide beds and a secure place to stay, but also therapy, ground services, programming, food, job opportunities, and more. It’s really insane to see what happens when women team up together. 


I always try to talk to the women as much as possible. After working there for some time I realized that even though I have never been homeless, I still have many things in common with these women. People tend to think homelessness looks a certain way, but it’s really easy for circumstances to change in the blink of an eye for anyone.


Part of my job is taking pictures and documenting what goes on at the shelter.  If you think about it, there aren’t many empowering images of homeless people out there. I take these photos because I think that one day, years from now, kids in these situations will be able to look back at these pictures and remember that despite being in a moment of struggle, their mom did the best they could to make them feel safe here at the Lotus House.”


What led you to become invested in women empowerment?


“Growing up I always wanted to be part of a community, or at least a group that I could relate to and that could share my values. Also being of mixed races, Irish and Palestinian, and having multiple religions in my family, I was a bit confused about where I belonged. When I got to university I saw the work done for and by women and it really inspired me. Very quickly, I became very passionate about issues of women and women empowerment. 


What inspires me the most right now are the women at our shelter. Our shelter, the Lotus House, houses women and children that are victims of domestic violence, sexual violence, homelessness and sometimes human trafficking. The people here have truly lived some of the most difficult experiences human beings can face, especially the children. 


Having encountered women from all walks of life has truly inspired me. I think one of the skills I crafted is LISTENING. People just want to have that feeling of validation, that someone can empathize and feel compassion for their situation without imposing judgement. Above all, what they face inspires me to be compassionate, and to continue doing more and truly caring for others. 


What are your future plans and what are you hoping to do next?


“I always tell young people to not let your work debilitate you. During my last semester at school, I remember I was feeling so overwhelmed because I didn’t know what direction I was going in or if I’d even picked the right major. When I graduated I didn’t have a job, I knew I didn’t want to become a lawyer, but I also knew I shouldn’t just throw myself into grad school.


One of my biggest tips is to not go to graduate school just because you’re afraid of the real world. Start doing what you’re passionate about and network as much as possible. You can start by going to any community events within your area of interest. Don’t sleep on LinkedIn, actually write messages and do your research, that’s what helped me get the job I wanted. 


Since graduating and working at two nonprofits, I’ve come to realize my potential and passion for the marketing field. The idea of becoming a brand strategist for a nonprofit would not only offer the opportunity to promote innovation and philanthropy, but offer so many opportunities to satisfy the creative in me. 


This is the reason I’m also looking into mod in eling! As a young professional and young person, I don’t have all the answers. Which is why I look to the community to find other like-minded women that can guide me through this process. That will always be home for me.”


On Instagram: @madmcnally


bottom of page