top of page

Ana Garrido - Editor of Artemisia

Meet Artemisia’s talented editor, Ana Garrido, who grew up in Chico, California. Almost graduating from UC Davis at 20 years old, she tells us her inspiring story.


@ac.garrido on Instagram


“I was really shy as a kid so I spent a lot of my time reading. I think I was 6 or 7 when I began writing my own little pieces—journaling, storytelling, etc. I’m 20 now and have so many years worth of writing, which is really special to me because I love looking back and seeing how I used to think and feel. It’s very introspective for me. When I got to middle school, though, I became really discouraged in my writing. I was so intimidated by the other kids in my English class. I thought that they wrote and spoke so well, so over time I just stopped writing because I didn’t think anyone would find my stories exciting. I stayed away from it for a while, and in high school I got really into science. I got into college as a Global Disease Biology major, which, looking back, I think I could have helped out with this coronavirus if I had finished that degree (laughs). I wanted to go to medical school at the time, but as I started taking classes, I realized that I just didn’t feel fulfilled. So I got my shit together, talked to an advisor, and switched my major to International Relations with a focus on peace and conflict. This was honestly the best decision I ever made. I’m about to graduate in a few weeks, which is very exciting, and I absolutely adore what I am doing now. I write about history, politics, human rights, and war. Maybe it’s nerdy, but the research, and most importantly getting to share people’s stories...it just makes me so happy. I really think my younger self would be so proud of who I am now. And that’s everything.”


Besides writing, what else do you love doing?


“I actually grew up dancing and playing music. I was trained in classical piano from the age of six and to fifteen. I stopped because my teacher passed away very suddenly, and for many years I couldn’t bring myself to play again. Now I do a bit, but...I’ll admit I’m still sensitive about it. I danced too, like I said. I started ballet when I was 2, and I did it for about 11 years. Actually, for 4 of those years I was in a professional company. I wasn’t particularly amazing or strong, but I loved it. I took a break from dance for a year, and when I entered high school I joined a competitive hip-hop team. Oh man, that company is still my family to this day (chuckles). They gave me the confidence that allowed me to blossom in college. It was so diverse, all my teammates were a different ethnicity and we all just came together to dance and have a good time. During competitions we’d go to a bunch of different cities, and I remember it just being so fun because we’d just mess around and hype the hell out of each other (laughs). There was a ton of people in the company, and even though we were different ages and had different backgrounds, we were home for each other. I’ve moved away and gone off to college now, but I still stay in touch with them whenever I can. They’re my family too, you know. We grew up dancing together for years, spent hours training and sweating every week. We’d see our worst days and our best days, we’d cry together and win together. They were home.”


What do you do to take care of yourself?


“In the last few years, I’ve been actively learning about ways to care for myself. I used to be really insecure, about too many things, I think, and it just got really overwhelming. Mentally and healthwise, I have improved so much. I started eating really well my second year of college, and although I’ve definitely dropped off on it since quarantine because a girl’s gotta eat good sometimes! (laughs) I’ve been trying to eat clean since then. I read this thing awhile ago too, it was a quote that said something like, ‘Remember to romanticise your life,’ or something. I’ve been trying to incorporate that into my life as well lately. Every day, I want to remind myself of the beauty around me, and truly enjoy every moment. I don’t want to be one of those people who looks back in a few years and realizes that they were so focused on getting to a certain point, that they forgot to live and appreciate life along the way. And for me, living well doesn’t mean doing all these crazy adventurous things, even though I’d definitely like to do something like travel Nepal one day (laughs). No, no, I just mean that, everyday, I want to take the time to feel through the small moments. Meals, conversations with people, feelings, smells, sounds, views. We’re only here alive for a few years, and my first 20 have gone by pretty quickly. I’ve learned to let go of a lot of regrets and grudges too. I just think it’s about time everyone starts living their fullest, happiest lives. And dammit, I’m going to live the hell out of mine.”


For more information about Ana, check out her Instagram!

bottom of page