top of page

Francesca Maggiore - Horse Jumper

Francesca Maggiore is a 21 yo professional horse-jumper from Italy. She now lives in the Netherlands where she pursues her passion.


“I was born in Abano Terme, Italy. For the first five years of my life I lived in Monterrey, Mexico and then moved back to Italy. During my school studies I moved to the Netherlands where I finished my last two years of high school at the international school in Eindhoven and began riding in one of the biggest stables in the world, Stal Tops in Valkenswaard. I came here with the purpose to start my own project, to be an independent horse rider and train various horses for horse jumping competitions. It’s difficult to be fully autonomous in this world though. I stopped riding for some time so I had to regain myself and my discipline, but for a couple of years now I have been working in other stables and improving horses to then sell them. I would describe myself as an extrovert person, always trying to look at the positive aspects in situations. I am always open to new opportunities that can further evolve me as a human being. I love trying new things and elaborate on them. As a horse rider I am competitive but always within the limits of my partner, the horse. My character also means that I am a bit protective, especially with things that I care about, like horses, family, etc. But in the end, I always try to listen and comprehend other points of view.”


How do you train horses for this industry?


“The young horses I train are all beginners and learners so my main goal is to slowly introduce them into the showjumping industry and teach them how to cope with that environment. I start with 3 years old horses, where the first connection with a human starts by the blacksmith carving their shoes, the veterinarian, and the breaking in, where someone sits on top of them for the first time. From then onwards, their career begins. After a person rides them for the first 2-3 times, they hand them over to me, where my job is to make them comfortable and earn their trust as their leader. Initially the horse’s first instinct is to run away from danger, in this case the human. They’re very sensitive about this so you have to make them understand that you’re a friend and not an enemy. That means teaching them to collaborate and become a team with you.


Normally they are ridden 3-4 times a week, you don’t want to overwhelm them but try to let them maintain a peaceful mind. The training teaches the horses discipline but it should also be fun for them. I really work on having the perfect partnership with my horses, so I invest a lot in bonding. A horse is not a machine, so when you work with them, you have to consider that they have feelings and a personality too. That’s the base for success.”


How would you describe the horse jumping industry?


“Horse Jumping is one of the very few sports where women and men have the same power, in the sense that it’s a sport that is dominated by a person’s psychology more than a person’s body strength. The connection between horse and rider is a fundamental element and I believe that’s what makes my sport so beautiful. Of course there’s competition, too. Unfortunately, people that try to make you feel small are very present in my sport, also because there is a lot of money involved. Sometimes people can buy the best horses in the world thinking that this brings them to top level immediately. But horses are no machines, so without investing in the perfect connection too you will still not be a winner. You are dealing with an animal so you need to have sensitivity. Every horse challenges you in a different way and contributes to your personal growth.”


What advice would you give to someone who would like to enter the world of professional horse jumping?


"In terms of advice—don’t care what other people think. Look at who inspired you to pursue your dream and continue your path. BE PROUD of any obstacles that come to you in that path because those are the only ones that will allow you to become stronger in the future. Embrace them all. The more you go on, the more difficult the obstacles will be. Learn from your mistakes and be proud of them. Deal with the problems and the many disappointments that you will come across. As I say often, horses are not machines and injuries are always around the corner. Also, as a rider you often do not own the horses yourself so be prepared for when your best mate gets sold in your best moment. Just cry it out, search for the things that give you mental power, and always be proud of your being. Remain true to yourself and do not forget where you started from.”

On Instagram: @francesca__maggiore

bottom of page